Official: João Mário to Internazionale

The transfer of João Mário to Internazionale has finally been completed. The player moves from Lisbon to Milan with a value of €40,000,000 with a possible bonus of a further €5,000,000 in the future, depending on objectives.

João Mário joined Sporting at 11-years old along with his older brother, Wilson Eduardo. He made his debut for the club in December 2011 against Lazio. João Mário always looked promising coming through the youth systems but really caught the eye during his loan move to Vitória de Setúbal and shortly after that cemented his place in the team as a starter.

At €40+5m João Mário becomes the most expensive sale in Sporting’s history. The previous 3 were all to Manchester United, Nani back in 2008 for €25.5m, Marcos Rojo in 2014 for €20m and Cristiano Ronaldo back in 2003 for €15m.

João Mário left a message on Instagram for the fans: “Where to start? 14 marvellous years that I will not forget. At this time the only word that comes to my head is thanks. Thanks to Sporting for everything they have done for me. I started like any kid who arrives at the academy and dreams of getting to the first team. Since the first day I knew I had made the right choice and I thank all of the people without exception who were part of this story. From the management, all the trainers I had, all of the people who worked for years at the academy, my big thank you! They will stay in my heart as well as all the Sportinguistas for the support and admiration. From today I am now one more fan. Thank you to Inter for this opportunity and for all the care during this journey. Eager to start.”

Obrigado por tudo, João Mário!

Leave a Reply

