Ânderson Polga Leaves Sporting

After 9 long years with Sporting centre-back Ânderson Polga has decided to leave the club. Polga joined Sporting from Grêmio back in 2003 after having picked up a World Cup medal with Brazil back in 2002.

Polga made has debut for sporting against Académica in a 2-1 win on the 16th August 2003 and it was Académica who were Polga’s last team he played in the Taça de Portugal last weekend.

In total Ânderson Polga made 327 appearances and scored goal 4 in all competitions in his 9 years at Sporting and was the most senior member of the squad. In his time at Sporting Polga won the Taça de Portugal twice and the Supertaça twice too.

The defender’s contract expires this season and he has decided to finish the last few years elsewhere with his native Brazil being his most likely destination.

Polga himself said: “This is a moment of mixed emotion for me, but I feel really proud to have had the chance to leave my country to join a club like Sporting, which has given me everything I could ever need to do by best. I feel honoured by the sentiment and respect that this Club has for me and I will never forget the people who have worked alongside me during the last nine years. Every time I put on the Sporting shirt I did so with pride, willingness and a determination to win. As of today I will begin my life as a Sporting fan and I will cheer the team on. Sporting, like Portugal, has played a huge part in my life and I will never forget that.”

Leave a Reply

