Marat Izmailov signs new contract until 2015

Good news out of the Sporting camp this morning as Marat Izmailov has signed a contract extension that will keep him at the Estádio José Alvalade until 2015.

The Russian has had his problems with the club and injuries in the past, so it could well be seen as a bit of a surprise that he will stay. Perhaps the new Godinho Lopes regime is a factor in keep him at the club.

The official website had a couple of questions for Izmailov after his new contract is signed and sealed:

SPORTING Journal: How are you feeling, having renewed your contract?
Marat Izmailov: “Firstly, I would like to thank the new board for the confidence that they have shown in me, especially at what is one of the lowest points of my career. That confidence has been fundamental in my recovery. I would also like to stress that I am really happy and that I will do everything I can to help this team reach its objectives. At Sporting, I feel at home.”

SPORTING Journal: A message for the Club’s Members and fans…
Marat Izmailov: “I feel like I owe a lot to Sporting’s Members and fans, because they have never stopped supporting me. Because of that, I promise that I will do the best that I possibly can to help us become champions.”

Leave a Reply

